The Majors are arguably the most important golf championship games in the world.  Each year, these four games take place, starting in April and ending in August, with the exception of when the timeline changes because of the Summer Olympics.  These games go by the names, “The Masters,” “The US Open,” “The British Open,” and “The PGA Championship.”  Let’s break these down a bit further; what is the difference between these four championship games?

The Masters

Alberto Washington Bobby Jones Clifford RobertsPictured: Bobby Jones (Left) & Clifford Roberts (Right),
Co-Founders of The Masters Tournament
Source: The Masters Tournament

On March 22, 1934, the Augusta National Invitation Tournament took place because of the brilliant minds of Clifford Roberts, financial guru, and Bobby Jones, renowned amateur golf competitor.  Clifford was set on naming the championship the Masters Tournament, but Bobby thought that was too pretentious of a name.  Bobby finally relented after five years of play, officially allowing Clifford to change the championship’s name to the Masters Tournament.  After becoming a huge hit in that first half a decade, the tournament became set on occurring for four days during the first week of April each year.  Click here for a greater picture of The Masters Tournament major milestones to get caught up to today’s beautiful game.

The US Open

Alberto Washington Horace RawlinsPictured: Horace Rawlins,
The US Open’s First Gold Medalist
Source: Brian Gregory of Mid Herts Golf Club

The United States Golf Association hosted their first US Open on October 4, 1895.  The tournament consisted of four rounds through four different nine-hole courses in Newport, Rhode Island.  The first year’s twenty-one year-old winner, Horace Rawlins, received $150 cash and ownership of the US Open Cup for 365 glorious days.  With the growing popularity of the tournament, Bob Jones, co-founder of the Masters Tournament, joined the US Open and won on four separate occasions.  Because so many golfers signed up for entry into the Open, the US Open had to, “introduce sectional qualifying in 1924… In 1954, the U.S. Open course was roped from tee to green for the first time. That year also marked the first national television coverage.”  Today, the US Open is known as one of four major championship tournaments in all of men’s golf.

Come back in a couple of weeks for part two of “The 4 Championship Golf Games During The Majors,” where I’ll discuss the British Open and the PGA Championship!